Closed for Juneteenth
The library will be closed Wednesday, June 19.

Emily Henry Read-Alikes

If you’re a fan of Emily Henry, try these authors and novels!

June 15, 2023

Emily Henry is perhaps best known for her adult contemporary romantic fiction, although she began her career writing for teens.

Her witty, heartwarming, layered (and steamy) stories are complemented by empathetic, likable characters who are never less than authentic.

 

Author Read-Alikes

Looking for something similar to Emily Henry? Here are nine authors suggested by NoveList, our favorite book recommendation database.

  • Tessa Bailey: Emily Henry and Tessa Bailey both write banter-filled, steamy romantic comedies that delve into the pitfalls of modern relationships and their ensuing complications. Likeable protagonists and well-developed supporting characters round out their casts.—Jane Jorgenson, NoveList
  • Farah Heron: Both authors are known for writing romantic comedies for both teens and adults with complex, heartwarming plots in which the characters embark on a journey of self-discovery while falling for someone who brings out the best in them.—CJ Connor, NoveList
  • Kate Clayborn: These authors write contemporary romances in which richly drawn relationships with protagonists’ friends and family evolve in parallel to the developing romance. Both authors maintain a heartwarming tone while exploring their characters’ emotional depths.—Malia Jackson, NoveList
  • Abby Jimenez: Likeable characters who face realistic emotional, professional, and personal struggles populate both Emily Henry and Abby Jimenez’s work. While the focus of their stories is on the central romance they also fully develop secondary characters and topics separate from the romance. Each infuses their heartwarming and moving novels with humor.—Halle Carlson, NoveList
  • Sally Thorne: Emily Henry started her journey as a contemporary romance reader and writer with Sally Thorne’s The Hating Game; Thorne’s steamy, banter-filled romantic comedies pioneered some of the tonal elements that Henry’s readers love. Both will please readers looking for Gen Z-friendly romance.—Autumn Winters, NoveList
  • Jasmine Guillory: Readers looking for heartwarming yet steamy romance starring characters who behave authentically will find it in the work of both Jasmine Guillory and her professed fan, Emily Henry. —Autumn Winters, NoveList
  • Helen Hoang: Helen Hoang’s first novel The Kiss Quotient became a sensation in 2018, inspiring aspiring romance novelist Emily Henry. Readers looking for multi-layered characters entangled in satisfyingly steamy relationships will find them in both authors’ work.—Autumn Winters, NoveList
  • Alicia Thompson: These authors’ works are heartwarming, and they have the genre “romantic comedies”;and the subjects “summer,” “authors,” and “neighbors.” —NoveList
  • Jenn Bennett: These authors’ works have the genre “romantic comedies”; and the subjects “summer,””best friends,” and “teenage romance.” —NoveList

 

The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams

The Bromance Book Club

Lyssa Kay Adams

To win back his wife, who wants a divorce, desperate Nashville Legends second baseman Gavin Scott finds help from an unlikely source–a secret romance-reading club of Nashville’s top alpha men.

It Happened One Summer by Tessa Bailey

It Happened One Summer

Tessa Bailey

After being cut off by her wealthy step-father, a partying Hollywood ‘It Girl’ experiences culture shock when she moves to Washington to learn some responsibility and help her sister run their late father’s dive bar.

Talk Bookish To Me by Kate Bromley

Talk Bookish To Me

Kate Bromley

Kara Sullivan, a romance novelist, finds inspiration for her next novel at her best friend’s wedding, but the muse is a former flame who pushes her buttons.

The Bodyguard by Katherine Center

The Bodyguard

Katherine Center

Hired as superstar actor Jack Stapleton’s bodyguard, Hannah Brooks must pose as his girlfriend while visiting his family’s ranch in Texas where she finds it easy to protect him, but hard to protect her own, long-neglected heart.

The Stand-In by Lily Chu

The Stand-In

Lily Chu

When actress Wei Fangli, due to their uncanny resemblance, asks Gracie to pretend to be her for the next two months, Gracie, drawn into a world of luxury she never knew existed, must play the role of a lifetime that leads to a shocking discovery, forever uniting these two women.

Georgie, All Along by Kate Clayborn

Georgie, All Along

Kate Clayborn

Returning to her hometown, an L.A. personal assistant discovers her ‘friendfic’ teenage diary and decides to use it as a guidebook to forge a new path, in the new novel from the author of Love Lettering.

You Had Me At Hola by Alexis Daria

You Had Me At Hola

Alexis Daria

Rendered the subject of tabloid gossip by a messy public breakup, soap star Jasmine takes a part in a new bilingual comedy at the side of a telenovela costar who would revitalize his career.

The Neighbor Favor by Kristina Forest

The Neighbor Favor

Kristina Forest

Enlisting the help of her new neighbor to find a date for her sister’s wedding, not realizing he is her favorite fantasy author–the very same one who ghosted her months ago– aspiring children’s book author Lily Greene finds this simple favor between them becoming anything but.

Drunk On Love by Jasmine Guillory

Drunk On Love

Jasmine Guillory

Accidentally and unknowingly having a one-night stand with her new employee the night before his first day, stressed out Napa Valley winery owner Margot Nobel tries to keep things purely professional, but fails miserably.

The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

The Love Hypothesis

Ali Hazelwood

To convince her best friend that she is on her way to a happily ever after, third-year Ph.D. candidate Olive Smith, who doesn’t believe in long-lasting romance, forms a fake relationship with Stanford’s reigning lab tyrant and soon finds their experiment putting her own heart under the microscope.

Accidentally Engaged by Farah Heron

Accidentally Engaged

Farah Heron

Determined to marry for love in spite of her parents’ interfering matchmaking schemes, Reena Manji pretends to be engaged to a neighbor in her father’s employ in the hopes of winning a couples’ cooking competition.

Get A Life, Chloe Brown : A Novel by Talia Hibbert

Get A Life, Chloe Brown : A Novel

Talia Hibbert

Emerging from a life-threatening illness, a fiercely organized but unfulfilled computer geek recruits a mysterious artist to help her establish meaning in her life, before finding herself engaged in reckless but thrilling activities.

Life's Too Short by Abby Jimenez

Life’s Too Short

Abby Jimenez

Gaining an unexpected online following after quitting her job to travel the world, a woman anticipating a short life becomes the guardian of her infant niece before her resolve to avoid relationships is tested by a baby-savvy lawyer.

The Book Proposal by K.J. Micciche

The Book Proposal

K.J. Micciche

Forging an unlikely friendship with her long ago high-school crush, romance writer Gracie Landing uses his tales of his break-up as a source of material for her current work-in-progress, risking her career and chance at happiness when chaos ensues.

The Party Crasher by Sophie Kinsella

The Party Crasher

Sophie Kinsella

To retrieve a beloved childhood treasure hidden in her old home during a huge party, Effie breaks into Greenoaks, and, while sneaking around the house, hears conversations that make her see her family in a new light–and make wonder what she really came here to find.

The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

The Unhoneymooners

Christina Lauren

Partnered with a nemesis best man on a paradise honeymoon when her bride twin gets food poisoning, a chronically unlucky maid of honor assumes the role of a newlywed before unexpectedly falling for her companion.

Paris Is Always A Good Idea by Jenn McKinlay

Paris Is Always A Good Idea

Jenn McKinlay

Witnessing remarriages in her family in the years after her mother’s death, a talented medical-research fundraiser retraces her post-college European tour in the hopes of reconnecting with one of three romantic partners from the past.

Otherwise Engaged by Lindsey Palmer

Otherwise Engaged

Lindsey Palmer

When her fiance Gabe sells his first novel that is based on one of his past relationships, Molly struggles with the reappearance of his ex-girlfriend Talia.

First Love, Take Two by Sajni Patel

First Love, Take Two

Sajni Patel

A doctor doing her residency, Preeti Patel, discovers too late that her new roommate is her ex-boyfriend, Daniel, who is still super-hot and an amazing cook but was driven away by her traditional and strict family.

Must Love Books by Shauna Robinson

Must Love Books

Shauna Robinson

After five years working at Parson’s Press, Nora is forced to lie her way into moonlighting for a rival publisher…and maybe poaching a few authors along the way. But when Nora accidentally falls for Andrew Santos, an author Parsons Press can’t afford to lose, she must decide where her loyalties lie. Parsons Press, Andrew, or herself and her future.

The Wedding Crasher by Mia Sosa

The Wedding Crasher

Mia Sosa

Crashing the wedding of complete strangers who don’t belong together, Solange agrees to be the former groom’s pretend girlfriend to make up for her interference, and as they fake date for the benefit of his colleagues, they form an undeniable connection.

Second First Impressions by Sally Thorne

Second First Impressions

Sally Thorne

A spoiled, tattooed rich man reluctantly agrees to become an assistant to two casually exploitative nonagenarians before unexpectedly catching the eye of the property’s serious-minded manager.

The Shaadi Set-Up by Lillie Vale

The Shaadi Set-Up

Lillie Vale

In this witty and heartfelt rom-com debut for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Emily Henry, and Tessa Bailey, an Indian American woman signs herself and her boyfriend up for a matchmaking site to prove they’re a perfect match, only to be paired with her ex instead.

The Summer Place by Jennifer Weiner

The Summer Place

Jennifer Weiner

At her stepdaughter’s marrige to her pandemic boyfriend– the last gathering at the family’s beach house in Cape Cod, Sarah is faced with lovers being revealed as their true selves, misunderstandings, and secrets, ensuring that nothing will ever be the same